Sunrise/sunset photos from my travels

I loved to draw when I was a kid, and whenever I was asked to draw something, it is almost always a scene of the sun setting (or rising depending on one’s perspective), with its light reflected by the sea.

My attempt to reproduce how the grade school version of me usually draws a sunset/sunrise photo (If the grade school version of me can actually see my drawing right now, she is probably laughing at failed attempt to draw

My attempt to reproduce how the grade school version of me usually draws a sunset/sunrise photo (if the grade school version of me can actually see my drawing right now, she is probably laughing at my failed attempt to draw).

Now that I am older, I am still awed by its beauty, but now I capture it using a camera.

There is something magical about the sunset/sunrise that draws me into it. Perhaps it’s the burst of colors that spreads throughout the sky and the fact that as it sets/rises, you’ll never really know what colors will turn up every time. Sometimes it’s fiery red, sometimes it’s sweet pink, or orange, or just plain yellow, or bluish purple, or even various combinations of these. Each time is always different experience.  As the battle between light and darkness ensues, one can’t help but be mesmerized by the picturesque view that is created by this event.

Over the years, I was able to capture sunrise and sunset moments from my travels. Here are some of my favorites.

Angkor wat sunriseAngkor Wat sunrisePalawan, Philippines sunriseSydney harbor sunsetSydney sunsetSydney sunset
Myanmar sunsetMyanmar sunsetNepal sunriseSagada, Philippines sunsetTaj Mahal sunset

Sunrise / Sunset, a set on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

